Stone Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 24th April 2021

Stone Sailing Club in Essex on the Blackwater Estuary was the host club for the first Sprint 15 event of 2021.

Team Marconi’s fleet of thirteen boats sailed the short trip to their next door club, and the total of 25 competitors were blessed with a very good breeze of a chilly 11-16 knots from the east in glorious sunshine. Perfect conditions for the host club Race Officer Wendy Robinson to set a trapezoid course using the club fixed line. Ideal situation given the current Covid restrictions and no committee boat racing able to be arranged.

Race 1 got under way with the slight advantage being mid line / inshore as opposed to line limit buoy end with the stronger tide out there and flowing in the direction of the first mark. The tide was at its height and gave plenty of space on the river to plot a course through the unique short deep chop experienced on this estuary in such conditions.     

Three laps of the course were sailed taking the leader around 40 minutes.  Current National Champion, Chris Tillyer from Thorpe Bay led to start with, but Jenny Ball from Marconi managed to get past on lap two to take the race win, with Chris in second and Keith Persin from Thorpe Bay sailing an excellent race to come in third.  Local sailor Geoff Tindale came fourth and Jim Bowie, also from Thorpe Bay, came fifth.

Race 2 saw slight change of start advantage and a bit more breeze in the middle of the river by the line limit buoy, this was to the advantage of local sailors Geoff Tindale, Skip Atkins and Roger Brown who started very close to limit buoy and got away into the advantage of the stronger tide. Skip rounded the windward mark 1st just ahead of Geoff, Jenny and Chris. Using his many years of successful cat sailing skills, Geoff just got past Skip on leg 2.  The tussle between Skip and Geoff continued on leg 3, taking each other to the left of the layline and arguably into the stronger, less favourable tide.  Jenny took the opportunity to sneak through down the layline and reached mark 3 just ahead.  Jenny was able to sail the rest of the race in clear air with a closely fought battle in the pack snapping at her heels.  Geoff and Skip held on to second and third place respectively, with David Ball from Marconi in fourth and Gordon Deuce from Brightlingsea coming in fifth.

Race 3 saw the line advantage similar as race 2 but with a bit more wind along the line, there was less of an advantage at the buoy end.  Chris joined Geoff and Skip right on the line limit buoy but unfortunately misjudged the line and was deemed OCS.  The first beat was more balanced with some gaining better speed taking a slightly more inshore route without such a tide advantage but avoiding the steep chop.  Jenny eventually managed to get ahead of Jason Clarke and Jon Pearse from Marconi and gave chase to Chris Tillyer who was in the lead.  It was a close call with an overlap between the two boats on the finish line, but Jenny’s win was confirmed with Chris’ OCS – followed by Jason 2nd and Jon Pearse 3rd  and David Ball in 4th.

So well done and congratulations to Jenny who sailed the perfect regatta with 3 bullets, congrats to Geoff Tindale, Stones very own Cat Sailing Guru who sailed superbly and with consistency to take 2nd overall and well done David Ball scoring 3rd overall.

Well done and thanks to all who attended and taking first steps out of the Covid restrictions to enjoy our great Sprint15 sport again!

A special thanks to Stone Sailing Club and their volunteers who made this happen both on the day, Race Team and Safety Boat Crew, and beforehand with all the Covid secure arrangements the event required.

Stone Sailing Club are looking forward to welcoming the Sprint 15 fleet back again soon with any future events including less restrictions, and a chance for the inclusion of a good social event something they are renowned for!!

A big thank you also to the competitors who supported the event.  To those who travelled from Queen Mary, Brightlingsea and Thorpe Bay by road, to the armada who travelled from Marconi by water as well as the local fleet.  We were particularly delighted to welcome youth sailors Jason Clarke, George Reid and Abbie Clarke – plus Ray Lowther from Marconi taking part in his first ever Sprint 15 TT having only joined the fleet recently.

Sail No. Helm Club Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Nett
2025 Jenny Ball Marconi SC 1 1 -1 2
2017 Geoff Tindale Stone SC 4 2 -5 6
1923 David Ball Marconi SC - DNF 4 4 8
2020 Chris Tillyer Thorpe Bay YC 2 7 - OCS 9
1988 Jon Pearse Marconi SC 7 -10 3 10
1981 Keith Persin Thorpe Bay YC 3 -11 7 10
1917 Jason Clarke Marconi SC 9 -12 2 11
1821 Skip Atkins Stone SC - DNF 3 8 11
2021 Jim Bowie Thorpe Bay YC 5 -8 6 11
2024 Gordon Deuce Brightlingsea SC 6 5 -12 11
1909 James Tovey Marconi SC 8 6 -9 14
1876 Roger Brown Stone SC 11 9 - DNC 20
1428 Andrew Perks Marconi SC 12 -13 10 22
2015 Nigel James Marconi SC 14 -15 11 25
1966 Robert Wilson Stone SC 13 -16 13 26
1983 Peter Richardson Marconi SC 10 17 - DNF 27
2016 Keith Chidwick Queen Mary 15 14 -16 29
1521 Dave Clarke Marconi SC 16 -18 14 30
2026 Andrew Berisford Brightlingsea SC 17 -19 15 32
1747 Rob Bard Marconi SC 18 -20 17 35
1339 Jemma Clarke Marconi SC 19 -21 19 38
1759 Lee Garton Marconi SC -22 22 18 40
1790 Abbie Clarke Stone SC 21 -23 20 41
2013 Ray Lowther Marconi SC 20 24 - DNC 44
1933 Sharon Reid Stone SC - DNF 25 21 46
1896 Donald Sloan Felixtowe Ferry - DNC DNC DNC 54

Report by Skip Atkins


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Jenny Ball2025Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Geoff Tindale2017Stone Sailing ClubUna Rig22
David Ball1923Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Chris Tillyer2020Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig44
Jon Pearse1988Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig55
Keith Persin1981Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig66
Jason Clarke1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Skip Atkins1821Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig88
Jim Bowie2021Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig99
Gordon Deuce2024Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
James Tovey1909Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Roger Brown1876Stone Sailing ClubUna Rig1212
Andy Perks1428Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1313
Nigel James2015Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1414
Robert Wilson1966Stone Sailing ClubUna Rig1515
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Keith Chidwick2016Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1717
Dave Clarke1521Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1818
Andrew Berisford2026Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Rob Bard1747Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2020
Jemma Clarke1339Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2121
Lee Garton1759Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2222
Abbie Clarke1790Stone Sailing ClubUna Rig2323
Sharon Reid1933Stone Sailing ClubUna Rig2525